We Had the Moon

 

Once I shared the sky with you

gazing from my flat lands

to mountains where you stood

 

and sands awaiting my name

married with yours.

 

We had the moon 

to wrap our heads around

and stars that flickered the tomorrows

that I was missing from your eyes.

 

I saw love in our landscape,

heard waves whispering your intentions

echoing promises spoken

on one knee.

 

Now, I watch you sleep; 

feel your breaths

close enough to kiss;

 

my hand wrapped gently

within yours

 

sharing so much more than stars.

 

 

~

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Had the Moon

Leave a Reply

