Sweet Sorrow

You are the tremble when I am alone,
that lingering fear that won’t subside,
the nightmare that intrudes on my sleep,
memories that make me feel sick inside.

the little voice that says I’m not good enough
and will never realize my dreams.
You took the sun, the moon
and the stars from my eyes;
left my heart bursting at the seams.

You are the pain in my children’s sighs
the scars I continue to bear,
the darkness I try to leave behind,
the rumors, the lies, the stares.

You are the misery that pushed me
to finally say goodbye,
the courage to walk out the door
and the desperation to fly.

~

3 thoughts on “Sweet Sorrow

Leave a Reply

