Poeming

Lay your words on the table
slowly and with conviction.

I will touch every one gently,
with adjectives
that will make you forget
whatever made your heart
hard.

I have broken down higher walls
than yours.

I’ll take your breath, your sighs,
soften your senses
with flowered infatuation,
leave paraphrases in puddles,
names in parentheses
to let them know you were here.

I’ll smooth out the rough edges;
the semicolons between you
and I,

dust myself off
and prepare

to poem another day.

Leave a Reply

