Five Letter Word

I latched onto someone’s coattails
and rode into this place

reciting poetry to myself,
hiding notebooks
under the bed

along with the six page letters
I wrote to my Dad,

but, never mailed.

I dance in flowers
with my fingers
and tell them my secrets,
(like how this book I am working on
needs to be written,)

but, who wants to read it?

I sing in the shower
when I know no one is listening,

but, still wait for applause.

I just read that a low self-esteem
is unattractive
and doubt destroys dreams

just before
I almost deleted this poem.

~

One thought on “Five Letter Word

Leave a Reply

