Party Line

still remember the number
on Grandma’s black rotary telephone
(Pershing 7-6552)
and the sound it made
when I dialed;

the breaths between numbers.

Her slender fingers
forming half – circles

calling Safeway
to check the price
of day old bread.

I wish I had the chance now
to roll my eyes
when she asked me
to button my sweater,
hang a basket of clothes
on the line

or sit in Grandpa’s lap
when all the others were playing,
flipping through national geographic
and hearing old war stories

just one more time.

It is his birthday today.

With all this new technology,
do you think there’s a chance
I could face-time Heaven?

~

2 thoughts on “Party Line

Leave a Reply

