Love Letter # 30 (Forgiveness)

I never could wait
for Spring to arrive;
the smell of April
humming in my left ear,
anticipation of flowers
sprinkled by liquid love,

and the swirl of rushing winds
teasing delicate daffodils.

I have survived
worse storms than this,
on days when thoughts
flooded the recesses of my mind
and only God and poetry
could save my sanity.

Let’s put this thing to rest
without a pink bouquet,
or insincere apologies.

I don’t feel small anymore
standing next to you
and these tears
are as dry as the ink

of your last I love you.

~

Leave a Reply

