Love Letter #37: Conception (Vignettes)

I.

I found you where the river meets willows
moons away from my loveliest imagination,
where jealous constellations
admire the conception of a love
expressed in glances away,
cheeks, blushing like roses
and the simplest twirl of tresses

with the loudest implications.

II.

Build me a castle
on the white beach
where you found me
a perfect sand dollar.

I don’t mind the twists and turns
we took to get there;
under vines, over hills
like our life;
glorious, uncharted,

reminiscent
of the unpaved road
to San Josef.

III.

Your breath, upon my neck
whispering like the breeze
just before the tide changes
and lips part
like the waves do
with a rush down my spine;
the same one I get
just before I close the door-

and the waft of your cologne settles
on the collar of my robe.

IV.

Did you ever notice
I leave my favorite pink lipstick
in the cup holder of your car,
and post-a-notes with a heart
in your lunchbag?;

Mementos
like the red box of letters
you sent me,
that I still keep close
even though you are near, now.

V.

I like how we sleep
closer than two could;
wrapped cocoon-like
interwoven limbs;
sheltered, like a second skin,
curves, valleys,
the metamorphosis of us.

~Day 22 of NaPoMo (a poem a day in April for National Poetry Month)

Leave a Reply

